Flexible learning; even for granny

I am 73 and I want to learn things, because my working live is not over. I want to use my live experience and understand the world of today. I am of great value, because I have that historical context and the wisdom of years.

I am following a course on working online together. The course is very flexible. I only want to learn in the morning, between 13:00 and 15:00, in the afternoon, between 15:00 and 17:00 and one hour in the evening, because I have some problems with concentration.

At this moment I am working in an online workgroup on Skype, I have 3 synchronous online sessions (Adobe Connect )with my class. I work on the knowledge nuggets in the Learning Management System between 15:00 and 17:00 after my sleep.

After a great diner, I continue at 19:00. Till 20:00 I work on reflections of the day and making questions.

I am very happy when I learn and I share my knowledge and experience.

Last month we had to do a field studie, but I was not able to go outside because of my arthritis. So I called my educational assistent for help. He delivers me some names names of people who would do an online interview with me by Skype. So I installed the Skype recorder, prepared the interview and I could make a great blog on my field research, even I didn’t enter the field.

Of course I had some training on using all these software and platforms, but it is like a walker, if you can use it, it is easy to learn…

Sometimes I wake up and realize that i have forgotten something, but happily there are always recordings of things I missed.

I have to admit that I have a learning addiction. I feel young and valuable for the world.

 

Francisca Frenks

11-4-2016

Leave a Reply

