Confusion is effective

It was only one glass of red wine I drunk before the Tweetchat of wednesday with ONL161. But ….the chat was going so fast that I was anxious to say stupid things. So next Tweetchat, no wine and I am going to do my best. This week I started English lessons at Duolingo. I think that is my contribution to better communication. It was my 4th Tweetchat so liked it even more than the times before. Speed and small sentences are great to orden your thinking.

I want to do a Tweetchat with teachers at Saxion, so I wrote down the questions of Allistair for inspiration: Hashtag of the tweetchat: #ONL161. I also got a lot of additional information which I will share with the Dutch teachers. De questions of the Tweetchat:

  1. Q1 How should we help students adapt to a new course’s learning environment?
  2. Q2 What makes a good course introduction? – related to Q1
  3. Q3 How do we develop collaborative literacy in our students?
  4. Q4 Slight change of focus now. How do you network professionally?
  5. Q5 How can you improve your networking and collaborative literacy?
  6. Q6 Why should students also develop a personal learning network?

Alistair made the Storify-resume of the tweetchat https://storify.com/alacre/onl161-tweetchat-1  

Interesting tweets of the ONL161-members I put in the Mindmap so I have a nice overview of the knowledge and experience of al those smart people! Isn’t it smart? https://www.mindmeister.com/662796536

Soft skills

Remarkable was the number of soft skills which were mentioned in relation to adapt the online course by students. So less words about that great technology… “Welcoming and possibities to connect with peers and facilitators, warm & welcoming atmosfere“.

What is the problem?

Later this week we had an online meeting with the Young4Ever group. At thursdag night I had to prepare the scenario with the Fish-model from Topic 1. My love for the Fish has decreased.

If I want to desgn a course the Action mapping of Cathy More is very usefull to me. I used it for everything. I think the Fish challenges me. He let me think in a different way. In a more filosophical way. I have to try to not be practical. (Is this English?)

First I thought I got it, so i answered the questions of the Fish. Then I looked it over and my brainstorm was too wide for this course. I involved stupid parents, bad websitedevelopers, and several other things to my brainstorm. Being creative has limits…

I saw someone else had fill in the Fish-form and confusion was 100%, because his view was totaly different.I want to do it well, …

…so I took another cup of thee, and focussed, as the Fish told me. “What do I have to do? What is it all about? I don’t even know what the problem is. This is Problem Based Learning, but without a real problem. Fo me it isn’t a problem.”

“Maybe it is a problem for the person in the scenario or for the organisation or for the facilitators?

Do we have to make a problem?”

Finally I stopped and I decided that I had a great overview of the world of this learner and that was enough.

In the webinar I was soo happy that the audio of group-members was better than last time. We discussed the groundrules I set up. I don’t understand why others didn’t make groundrules. For me the session was going too slow. The difference between digital literacy is big. It was great that there was room for people to ask help and I was happy with that. I am happy with the groundrules they are accepted.

Friday evening. I made a mindmap of what I had learned this week. That was very much! I analyzed the tweetchat (without alcohol), the activities on the community, the online session… pfff confusion is effective!

Francisca Frenks

 

Leave a Reply

